Author: Site Editor Publish Time: 2020-12-28 Origin: Site
Non-dairy creamers, commonly called tea whiteners or coffee whiteners are liquid or granular substances intended to substitute for milk or cream as an additive to coffee, tea, hot chocolate or other beverages. They do not contain lactose and therefore are commonly described as being non-dairy products, although many contain casein, a milk-derived protein. Dry granular products do not need to be refrigerated and can be used and stored in locations which do not have a refrigerator. Liquid non-dairy creamers should be tightly capped and refrigerated after opening. Some non-dairy creamers contain sweeteners and flavors, such as vanilla, hazelnut or Irish cream. As with other processed food products, low calorie and low fat versions are available for non-dairy creamers.
Ingredients For Food
To replicate the mouthfeel of milk fats, non-dairy creamers often contain hydrogenated vegetable oils, although nonfat nondairy creamers/whiteners also exist.
It is widely used in bakery, juice, drinking, chocolate, soup.
The use of a milk derivative prompts some individuals and organizations – such as vegans and Jewish dietary law authorities – to classify the product as "dairy" rather than nondairy. Those who rely on this classification will either not consume the product or will not use or consume it in conjunction with any meat products (e.g., observant Jews).As with other processed food products, low calorie and low fat versions are available for non-dairy creamers. People with milk allergy need to be aware that non-dairy creamer may contain sodium caseinate, a milk protein. It will be in the ingredient list.